Success under stress

“Open your nearest book to page 82. Take the third full sentence on the page, and work it into a post somehow.”

I’ve missed a few days o’blogging but I’m back and playing catch-up with the Blogging101 tips and tricks. Today’s prompt is pasted above. Here’s what I found on page 82….

“By freeing up time to develop more business, Dan generated enough revenue to hire another person to take on follow-up work.”

Having just wrapped up my work day, my nearest book is the career-focused “Success under Stress” by Sharon Melnick. While the advice is designed to help professionally, I can’t help but think it’ll help me personally as well. I am all about improving my time-management. Ironically enough, I just purchased “Time management for the creative person” by Lee Silber. Have I really had a chance to read either book yet? I’m working on that!

Sometimes…. OK, quite often, I find myself suffering from “analysis paralysis” – a cute rhyme I use to define my not-so-cute bad habit. With too much on my plate, I often find myself so overwhelmed I simply can do nothing but stare off into space and ignore the fact that I have to do X, Y and Z. It can get really bad at times, where I will totally shut down all aspects of my life. I think subconsciously I figure, well if I’m not going to do the really important things right now that I need to do, then I’m not going to allow myself to do anything worthwhile.

But always, I do eventually snap out of it and I attack my to-do list with a vengeance. Must I suffer through analysis paralysis before proactive Penny kicks in!? Hoping these books will help!

Leave a Reply

